“some of the hardest steps I take are those first few getting out the door for daily runs”

“In the 30 years I’ve been a runner I’ve run more than 150,000 miles. Still, some of the hardest steps I take are those first few getting out the door for daily runs.” – Bill Rodgers

Bill_Rodgers_Boston_Globe

Bill Rodgers (Source: Boston Globe)

This is a quote I just read in the Facebook feed from Runner’s World magazine. This is so true! Even though I haven’t done nearly as many miles and years of running as Bill Rodgers and probably never will, I experience this early morning battle with myself on most days that I run.

Today was one of those days. The Run for the Memory Half Marathon team of the Alzheimer’s Association met this morning for another long run along Boston’s beautiful Charles River. It was 33 degrees Fahrenheit and sunny. A perfect day for a long run! So I thought. But there were strong, gusty winds. Had I not committed to run with the Alzheimer’s Association team for another early morning Saturday run, I would have been very tempted to stay in my warm bed listening to the wind playing with the bedroom window. It felt like a chilly February day only that the songbirds are back and the snow piles (almost) gone on this early April Saturday morning.

Speaking of Bill Rodgers – the Boston Marathon is right around the corner. Alzheimer’s Association marathon runners, I’ll be there at Kenmore Square to cheer you on! Bill Rodgers won the Boston Marathon several times. According to his website in 1975 he won the Boston Marathon with an impressive time of 2:09:55. I’m hoping to be able to finish half the distance in around the same amount of time! I have never met Bill Rodgers, but he is a huge icon not only here in Boston, but also in the world of marathon running. I’ve been to the Bill Rodgers Running Center once, which is full of memorabilia. On the wall there are many photos like the one in this post. He is also full of wisdom about running and training. Need running advice for the Boston marathon? Check out this compilation of Marathon tips from Bill Rodgers on the Boston Globe (Marathon tips).

Leave a Reply

