A Pre-Dawn Run on a Chilly Boston Morning

It’s about 4:45 a.m. and I am waiting for my alarm clock to ring. I jump out of bed at the sound of the alarm trying not to wake up my husband. After a training setback yesterday I’m ready to head out for another interval training session in the wee hours of the morning. I’m amazed how easy it is to get out and go! Yesterday morning, a 7-mile run including 3×1600 meter was on the schedule. I simply and perhaps literally couldn’t warm up to the idea of early morning intense physical work (yes, work!) at a “Feels Like” temperature of 17 (!) Fahrenheit due to strong, cold winds.

Spending most of my waking hours in front of the computer screen yesterday and having skipped my early morning run, I felt the effects of being sedentary: I felt tired, frazzled, and it was difficult to concentrate. “It’s just one of those days.”, I thought. Today, however, having completed about 5 miles of interval training with two 1600 meter repeats on the local high-school outdoor tracks, I feel invigorated and ready for the day.

running_tracks_pre-dawnI was the lone runner on the highschool tracks. Perhaps it was the time of day, perhaps the temperature, perhaps the early morning darkness. Still, I was surprised not to see a single soul out there with me. While I feel more comfortable having other runners around me when running before dawn, it was nice not having to worry about track etiquette or bumping into someone speed-walking in my lane (the innermost lane) in the opposite direction. I used to run on different tracks, which required many slalom motions around not only the many walkers who enjoyed their morning stroll in almost every lane, but also around a plethora of goose droppings! It’s simply nice if you’re trying to run fast not having to worry about obstacles.

running_tracks_pre-dawn2While training for the Boston’s Run to Remember Half Marathon I sometimes lose sight of my fund raising goal. I have to remind myself I’m doing this for a cause: to raise funds for Alzheimer’s disease through the Alzheimer’s Association. I am slowly getting closer to my goal. As of today I have reached about 70% of my fund raising goal. It’s time to step up not only the training, but also my fund raising efforts.

But for now, having sipped my post-run “cafe au lait”, I’m ready for the day!

Leave a Reply

